Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Elisha's Bones by Don Hoesel



Angie's Take: This book surprised me. I am not a huge fan of First Person but I love archaeology and adventure. But even the heavy First Person voice of Elisha's Bones hasn't daunted me. I am totally enjoying chasing around the world with Jack Hawthorne and Espy (Esperanza) who is his former fiance'. We've been to Egypt, Venezuela, and a town called Lalibela that I'd never heard of before. I loved learning about 9 churches carved out of solid rock! We've flown together, ridden down rocky, narrow mountain roads and explored Mayan ruins in search of Elisha's Bones and the mystery that surrounds them. Now we're barely surviving in Australia! But friends all around us are dropping from bullets and mysterious car accidents--even bad guys that intended to kill Jack and Espy are falling in the beach sand. What else??

Elisha's Bones feels like a good adventure in the vein of National Treasure and Indiana Jones. I think you'll enjoy it too.




Book Summary: The bones of the prophet once raised the dead to life . . . but they vanished from history in a whisper. Now Jack Hawthorne, part-time skeptic and full-time professor of archaeology, is enlisted to sift them from the sands of time.

Bankrolled by a dying man of unlimited means, Hawthorne's hunt spans the globe and leads him into a dealdy conspiracy older than the church itself.

And he soon discovers those sworn to keep the secrets of the bones will do anything to protect them.

Get your copy here.

Author Bio: Don Hoesel, when not writing, works in the communications department of a large company. He holds a B.A. in Mass Communication from Taylor University and has published short fiction in Relief Journal. don lives in Spring Hill, Tennessee with his wife and two children. Elisha's Bones is his first novel.
Post a Comment